Adams County Commissioners

Joe Holmes
Bill Brown
Mike Paradis

Joe Holmes
District: 1
Ph 256-4457
Fax 253-4880

Bill Brown
District: 3
Ph 347-2290
Fax 347-3030

Mike Paradis
District: 2
Ph 253-4458
Fax 253-4880

Mailing Address:
Adams County Commissioners
PO Box 48
Council, ID 83612

Commissioners' Page Contents

Meeting Times

Proposed Agenda for next Meeting

Online Approved Commissioners Minutes

Obtain Copies of Approved Minutes

Description of Board

The Idaho Code mandates a minimum of three County Commissioners in the list of county officials required for county government. Any county may elect to expand this number to 5, 7 or 9 board members. However, no counties in Idaho have chosen to expand their boards beyond three members.

It further mandates that two County Commissioners serve two-year terms and the third serves a four-year term. The four-year term rotates between the Commissioners districts.

The Board has budget control, sets salary and benefit levels, and adopts countywide policy for all departments of County government. Other elected officials set policies and procedures for their individual departments.

However, the following Departments report directly to the Commissioners:

  • Building Department
  • County Extension Office
  • Juvenile Probation
  • Public Defender
  • Road & Bridge Department
  • Solid Waste/Recycling
  • Weed Control

The Board also appoints members to the following County Boards:

  • Adams County Weed Management Area
  • Ambulance
  • Citizens Advisory Committees and study groups
  • County Fair
  • Historic Preservation Commission
  • Parks
  • Planning and Zoning

Return To Top

Meeting Times

Commissioners’ meet on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Monday of each month. If the Monday falls on a legal holiday, the meeting is rescheduled to the day following the holiday.

Meetings are called to order at 9:00am in the Commissioners' Room at the Adams County Courthouse, and run until approximately 4:30 or 5:00 pm..

Anyone can request to have a matter put on the agenda for the Commissioners’ Meeting. Requests must be made through the County Clerk’s office, 253-4561. The agenda is finalized at the end of the business day, the Friday preceding the next meeting date.

All meetings of the Board of Commissioners are open to the public with no appointment required. Members of the public may bring up any topic for discussion that the Board has time to deal with, which does not interfere with adhering to their published agenda. However, no action can be taken that day on any matter that has not been included in the agenda. This allows all interested parties have the opportunity to comment on any subject before the Board takes action.

Return To Top

Areas of Responsibility/Boards

Each commissioner does have a special area of responsibility, although the responsibilities overlap.

Commissioner Brown:

  • Chairman Woody Biomass
  • Chairman Gem Plan
  • Represents County with Idaho Department of Transportation
  • Represents County with SAGE Development Corp
  • Represents County with Adams County Snowmobile Association
  • Member Idaho Association of Counties Public Lands Committee
  • Member Idaho Association of Counties Energy Committee
  • Specialties:
  • Coordination with State, other counties and cities
  • Social Services
  • Transportation
  • Acquisition

Commissioner Holmes:

  • Represents County with Resource Conservation and Development (RC&D)
  • Represents County with Idaho Community Foundation
  • Solid Waste
  • Road Department
  • Tracking projects
  • Public Transportation

Commissioner Paradis:

  • Represents County with WICAP – in charge of social services
  • Represents County with Adams County Cooperative Weed Management Area
  • Represents County with Lower Salmon Sub-Basin Planning Team
  • Specialties:
  • Coordination with USFS
  • Noxious Weeds
  • Courthouse Grounds
  • Acquisition

Return To Top

Obtain Copies of Approved Minutes

Copies of approved minutes may be obtained from the Clerk's office for $1.00 per page.

Return To Top

Home | Assessor | Building | Clerk-Auditor-Recorder | Commissioners | Coroner | Judicial
Prosecutor | Sheriff | Treasurer | Services & Information | County-Past & Present | Index | Links

© Adams County, Idaho. All rights reserved
Site Design by: High Desert Design, Mesa ID